Kilkenny City Vocational School

South Leinster Junior Football Champions

South Leinster Junior Football Champions

The 6th of April 2022 will go down as a proud day for Kilkenny City Vocational School and community as they secured the South Leinster, Junior, Roinn D football title. In Carlow GAA, Center of Excellence, Fenagh KCVS defeated a strong Athy College side on a score line of 4-4 to 2-8. The team were in a confident mood after an undefeated league campaign under the guidance of Mr. Henebery and Mr. Kealy. The match was a tight affair played in tough conditions with a gale force breeze behind the backs of Athy in the first half. Strong teamwork and determination saw KCVS lead at half time by three points. An outstanding defence led by Francis Power and some important scores from Jim Keenan and captain Dylan Barry. The second half started in a similar pattern to the first with some fine football from both sides but little scores to show for it. Goals from Danny Carthy and Dylan helped KCVS into an eight-point lead. Athy College responded admirably and got two goals of their own to reduce the gap and create a tense finish. With two minutes to go KCVS led by a single point and seemed out on their legs until Sean Falsey who had an excellent game in midfield with James Fitzpatrick broke up the field and slotted over a lovely point to secure the victory. Man of the match and captain Dylan Barry who finished the game with 3-2 collected the trophy on behalf of his teammates and school. He gave a wonderful speech to rousing applause from our supporters. After the game, Kilkenny City Vocational School manager Liam Henebery said “It was a fantastic performance from start to finish. It is not every day that a Kilkenny team gets the better of a Kildare side in a Gaelic football final. The performance reflected the players' commitment and efforts throughout the year.”

Kilkenny City Vocational team

1. Nicolas Olea

2. Thomas Donovan

3. Patrick Cahill

4. Gavin Hallissey

5. Francis Power

6. Alan Clifford

7. Sean Falsey

8. James Fitzpatrick

9. Danny Carthy

10. Wale Bakare

11. Dylan Barry

12. Jim Keenan

13. Daniel Massey

14. John Carthy

15. Warren Purcel

16. Joel Ibe

17. Tanvir Alam


Dylan Barry 3-2, Danny Carthy 1-0, Jim Keenan and Sean Falsey 0-1.

New Street, Kilkenny
056 7722468
Kilkenny & Carlow ETB
© 2022 Kilkenny City Vocational School